Frozen Words

The words “be careful”

Stop just inside my mouth,

Swallowed by the idea,

That you would think me jealous,

For attempting to guard you,

From the heartache that is waiting,

At the end of your road.

We do not know each other well,

Or at least,

Not well enough for you to understand,

That while we share similar love interests,

It is not jealousy that guides my tongue,

But worry and experience,

Of what fate awaits you. 

I care too much,

About those that I barely even know,

And care infinitely more,

About those that I know too well.

You are simultaneously,

A stranger,

And what I see in the mirror.

I am torn,

Between overstepping my bounds,

And losing everything,

For the sake that you might be happier in the long run,

And letting go,

Trusting that one way or another,

Things will work out,

Even if it means,

That you will get hurt in the process.

It is not in my nature,

To sit idly by,

And watch a train wreck,

Doing nothing to stop it,

Especially if I have the power to,

But I do not know,

If you would appreciate my intervention.

So I sit and watch,

Biting my tongue,

Going prematurely gray,

Scared to act,

Terrified of sitting still,

And always waiting. 

Leave a comment